Take the Leap

Spencer Evans is a current senior at SEU who participated in a faculty-led program to London.


During my time in England, although short, I discovered the importance of exploring other places and their history because it’s often unknown to us as we’re only aware of what we were taught about other countries throughout the years. Understanding and appreciating what unfamiliar places have to offer is a great part of traveling or visiting somewhere new as travelers are given different opportunities for experiences when compared to when we are back home.

IMG_1093

While we did so much as a group everyday, I regret not doing as much as I could’ve. Almost every night when we had time off, rather than going out and exploring the city further, my friends and I would get cheap food and hang out in the hotel room watching British reality shows and spending time together. While I will always remember these times with friends and even how outrageous some of their reality shows were, I wish I would’ve gone outside of my comfort zone. For example, I’m able to say that I’ve been to London twice and still haven’t gone on the London Eye, which is quite impressive but not in a fun way.

IMG_1050

When my friends and I look back on our experience abroad, we always say the same two things: we’d love to go back to London and we wish we did a lot more with our free time. Having this regret when reflecting on our experience has made me realize that I need to stop and think about how exciting it would be to take a small leap of faith and do something that I’m not used to, especially if it’s a big opportunity. My advice to anyone who has plans of traveling would be to make sure you see anything and everything that catches your eye, which is also advice that can be carried into someone’s everyday life.

IMG_1152

IMG_1003


FOLLOW US ON FACEBOOK, INSTAGRAM, TWITTER AND PINTEREST (@STEDSGEO) TO CATCH UP WITH STUDENTS AS THEY TRAVEL THE GLOBE! #TAKEONYOURWORLD
Leave a Reply

